Arkansas is a hemp-friendly state that authorizes hemp farming under the 2014 Farm Bill. Although the Natural State counts over 80 licensed hemp farmers and allows the retail sale of hemp-CBD products, the legality of hemp flower is a bit complicated.
Is Hemp Flower Legal in Arkansas?
Hemp flower is legal in Arkansas, but it cannot be sold to retailers and consumers directly. In 2017, Arkansas passed the state Industrial Hemp Act, which legalized hemp and hemp-derived products for commercial use.
According to the rules issued by the Arkansas State Plant Board (ASPB) — the ASPB has been overseeing the state’s hemp program — individuals and business entities need a license to cultivate, process, distribute, or market raw hemp and hemp products.
Licensed farmers are only allowed to sell hemp flower to licensed processors, who must turn the flower into a product such as CBD oil before hitting consumers. Hemp flower cultivated in Arkansas cannot be sold as a product to retailers or consumers directly.
That’s why many retailers in Arkansas get their hemp flower and hemp smokables from other U.S. states.
The rules issued by the ASPB, allow the sale of “publicly marketable product,” which is “a hemp product that means one or more of the following descriptions:” 
- The product does not include any living plants, viable seeds, leaf materials, floral materials, or decarboxylated delta-9-THC content above 0.3 percent; and does include, without limitation, the following products: bare stalks, bast fiber, hurd extracts, nonviable roots, nonviable seeds, seed oil, and plant extracts (excluding products containing decarboxylated delta-9-THC content above 0.3 percent).
- The product is CBD that was derived from industrial hemp, as defined in the regulation; or
- The product is CBD that is approved as a prescription medication by the United States Food and Drug Administration.”
Where to Buy Hemp Flower in Arkansas?
The hemp flower market in Arkansas is still developing, so many people find the most quality hempflower online.
Best Hemp Flower on the Market
Here are the hemp strains from reliable companies we recommend and use:
Lifter Plus showcases dense, weighty flower with 14% cannabidiol content. This strain has a dominant terpene profile, and flavor consumers enjoy.
WHERE TO BUY?
With a total cannabinoid content of impressive 21.4 %, Wife is one of the most sought after flower by consumers. Wife offers a fruity and earthy taste with hints of banana and cherries and gives the consumer a calming experience.
WHERE TO BUY?
Divine Goddess offers a rich cannabinoid-terpene profile of nearly 14%, and nice, clean hay flavor. This strain is perfect for any time of the day — you get a burst of energy in the morning and a relaxed feel at night.
WHERE TO BUY?
Is CBD Legal in Arkansas?
Yes, hemp CBD is legal in Arkansas. In March 2019, the state removed hemp-derived CBD that contains less than 0.3%THC on a dry weight basis (and is not an approved FDA drug) from the Arkansas list of controlled substances. Individuals interested in selling hemp-derived CBD don’t need a license or permit to sell CBD products. 
This means that there will be no criminal or civil penalties for anyone who possesses hemp-derived CBD products in Arkansas. Also, the sale of hemp CBD is authorized in this state, regardless of federal prohibition.
FAQ on Hemp Flower Arkansas State Laws
You are allowed to buy as much hemp flower as you want in Arkansas. Arkansas doesn’t have a legal limit on the quantity of hemp flower you are allowed to purchase at once in this state.
No. You don’t need a special license to buy smokable hemp flower in Arkansas. The state legalized the sale of hemp products and publicly marketable hemp products with less than 0.3% THC.
It’s unclear whether or not the retail sale of smokable hemp is legal in Arkansas. State retailers are selling hemp flower that comes from out of state because licensed farmers are not allowed to sell their hemp flower directly to retailers.
Yes! Cannabidiol (CBD) from hemp is legal in Arkansas. Arkansas decriminalized hemp CBD by excluding it from the state list of controlled substances.
In Arkansas, you can buy hemp flower in local shops, or order online.
Yes! Hemp-derived CBD oil with less than 0.3% THC is legal in Arkansas. The state authorized the retail sale of CBD oil and other hemp CBD products without a license.